Author Archive

Reader’s and Book Discussion Guide

Are you running a book discussion of The Living and the Lost at your Library or book club? Find helpful tips to enhance your reading and book club experiences with our 2022 LI Reads The Living and the Lost Reader’s Guide.

Long Island Reads will honor Ellen Feldman in person and online at an award ceremony on May 1, 2022 at Plainview-Old Bethpage Library.

March 2, 2022 at 10:47 am Leave a comment

2022 Author Event

Author Ellen Feldman will be honored at the 2022 Long Island Reads Selection Award event for her novel The Living and the Lost in a dual in-person and online program hosted by Plainview-Old Bethpage Library on Sunday, May 1 at 2 p.m. 

TWO WAYS TO ATTEND:

  1. Free tickets to the in-person event will be available to the public beginning Friday, April 1, at 9:30 a.m. Click the EVENTBRITE link for more information. 
  2. For those who prefer to attend virtually, Plainview-Old Bethpage Library will also host the event as an online program through the Crowdcast platform. Tickets are not required for the online event. Online attendees will receive a direct link to the event after registering. Click the CROWDCAST link to access the online event.

For more information, please contact your home library. 

Long Island Reads is sponsored by the Nassau Library System and the Public Libraries of Suffolk County.

February 24, 2022 at 10:54 am Leave a comment

The 2022 Pick Is In!

Book cover of The Living and the Lost by Ellen Feldman

The Living and the Lost by Ellen Feldman

After finding refuge from the Nazis in America, a brother and sister return to their native Germany in 1945, as the Allied occupation begins. Mostly set in a bombed-out, black-market-driven, postwar Berlin, The Living and the Lost brims with a spot-on timeliness in its concern about the lasting damage of a culture of hatred while delivering a riveting look at the days and months leading up to the building of the Berlin Wall, its consequences and its lasting impact on individuals.

Why The Living and the Lost?

~Ellen Feldman, an Amagansett, Long Island resident and 2009 Guggenheim fellow, has written 9 novels, including Scottsboro, The Boy Who Loved Anne Frank and Paris Never Leaves You.

~Perfect for book clubs, Feldman’s novels are “for fans of Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See and Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale… groups are sure to find much to dissect and discuss.” (Booklist)

~The Living and the Lost is an illuminating historical drama set in a lesser-known historical period—the immediate postwar era and Berlin before the wall, delving into the complications and compromises that come with the end of war.

~This title offers a variety of topics and themes which lend themselves to programming and book discussions, including loss and grief, antisemitism, war refugees, PTSD, and military service.

~The Living and the Lost is available in hardcover, paperback, ebook, large print, audio CD and downloadable audio formats.

~Learn more about The Living and the Lost and reserve your copy now:

Nassau County

Suffolk County

About the Author

~Long Island Reads will honor Ellen in person at an award ceremony on May 1, 2022.

November 24, 2021 at 12:11 pm Leave a comment

2021 Long Island Reads Event

In case you missed it, here’s your chance to watch our recorded 2021 Long Island Reads event with Brit Bennett speaking about her book The Vanishing Half.

April 11, 2021 at 4:08 pm 1 comment

Keep the Discussion Going

The libraries around Long Island are doing programs and book discussions all month long to celebrate this year’s book The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett. Check out the lists below and join in on the discussion.

Book Discussions

Coordinated Programs

April 11, 2021 at 3:08 pm 1 comment

Event Tickets Now Available!

Tickets for this year’s Long Island Reads event are now available through Eventbrite. Join us on Sunday, April 11, 2021 at 2 pm via Crowdcast for a conversation with Brit Bennett about her New York Times Best Selling novel The Vanishing Half.

Signed/Bookplated Books are available for purchase through the Book Revue website.

March 1, 2021 at 1:12 pm 2 comments

2021 Author Event

Author Brit Bennett will be honored at the 2021 Long Island Reads Selection Award virtual event for her novel The Vanishing Half in an online Crowdcast program hosted by Plainview-Old Bethpage Library on Sunday, April 11 at 2 p.m. Free tickets will be available to the public beginning Monday, March 1, at 9:30 a.m. through Eventbrite.  

Bennett, who is a National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 honoree, is the author of The Mothers,  a New York Times bestseller. The Vanishing Half is her second novel and was an instant #1 New York Times bestseller. 

Please contact your home library for more information. Long Island Reads is sponsored by the Nassau Library System and the Public Libraries of Suffolk County.

December 29, 2020 at 2:07 pm Leave a comment

The 2021 Pick Is In!

The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

Identical twin sisters grow up together in small-town Louisiana before choosing very different lives. Years later, one sister lives with her Black daughter in the same town, while the other secretly passes for white. Even separated by many miles and many lies, the fates of the twins remain intertwined. What will happen to the next generation when their own daughter’s lives intersect?

Why The Vanishing Half?

~ Brit Bennett teaches in the Creative Writing and Literature Program at Stony Brook University/Southampton. A bold and skillful storyteller, Brit graduated from Stanford University and earned her MFA in fiction at the University of Michigan.

~ The Vanishing Half was an instant NYT bestseller, received starred reviews in Booklist, Publishers Weekly, and Kirkus, and was chosen as a Good Morning America Book Club pick. The New York Times noted, “Bennett creates a striking portrait of racial identity in America.”

~ The Vanishing Half features a multi-stranded narrative which swoops from the late 1950s to 1988 and back, tracking the radically different lives of the Vignes twins and navigating difficult truths with clarity and grace.

~ The Vanishing Half will appeal to readers of all ages who will be transported by this riveting novel which explores the complications of family, race, and the ties that bind.

~ The Vanishing Half is available in hardcover, book on CD, Playaway audiobook, large print, and downloadable ebook and audio formats.

~ Learn more about The Vanishing Half and reserve your copy now:

Nassau County

Suffolk County

About the Author

~ Long Island Reads will honor Brit at an award ceremony on Sunday, April 11, 2021.

September 18, 2020 at 1:14 pm 1 comment

Long Island Reads with Erika Swyler

In case you missed it, here’s your chance to watch our Facebook Live event of Erika Swyler speaking about her book The Light from Other Stars.

 

April 18, 2020 at 4:02 pm Leave a comment

LI Reads Event Has Moved Online!

Please be sure to watch this year’s LI Reads Event online through Facebook Live!

LIReads4.19.20FBLiveErikaSwyler

April 2, 2020 at 1:47 pm Leave a comment

Older Posts


Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 232 other followers

Follow Us on Social Media

Our Past Events