The 2022 Pick Is In!

November 24, 2021 at 12:11 pm Leave a comment

Book cover of The Living and the Lost by Ellen Feldman

The Living and the Lost by Ellen Feldman

After finding refuge from the Nazis in America, a brother and sister return to their native Germany in 1945, as the Allied occupation begins. Mostly set in a bombed-out, black-market-driven, postwar Berlin, The Living and the Lost brims with a spot-on timeliness in its concern about the lasting damage of a culture of hatred while delivering a riveting look at the days and months leading up to the building of the Berlin Wall, its consequences and its lasting impact on individuals.

Why The Living and the Lost?

~Ellen Feldman, an Amagansett, Long Island resident and 2009 Guggenheim fellow, has written 9 novels, including Scottsboro, The Boy Who Loved Anne Frank and Paris Never Leaves You.

~Perfect for book clubs, Feldman’s novels are “for fans of Anthony Doerr’s All the Light We Cannot See and Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale… groups are sure to find much to dissect and discuss.” (Booklist)

~The Living and the Lost is an illuminating historical drama set in a lesser-known historical period—the immediate postwar era and Berlin before the wall, delving into the complications and compromises that come with the end of war.

~This title offers a variety of topics and themes which lend themselves to programming and book discussions, including loss and grief, antisemitism, war refugees, PTSD, and military service.

~The Living and the Lost is available in hardcover, paperback, ebook, large print, audio CD and downloadable audio formats.

~Learn more about The Living and the Lost and reserve your copy now:

Nassau County

Suffolk County

About the Author

~Long Island Reads will honor Ellen in person at an award ceremony on May 1, 2022.

Entry filed under: Long Island Reads.

2021 Long Island Reads Event

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 214 other followers

Follow Us on Social Media

Our Past Events


%d bloggers like this: